Board of Directors

  • Michael P. Bailey


    Michael P. Bailey serves as president and chief executive officer of AVEO and a member of the company’s board of directors, bringing more than 20 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry to the company. He joined AVEO in 2010 as the company’s chief commercial officer, was named chief business officer in 2013 and assumed his current roles in January 2015. Mr. Bailey joined AVEO from Synta Pharmaceuticals, where he served as senior vice president, business development, and chief commercial officer since 2008. Prior to joining Synta, Mr. Bailey led ImClone Systems' (now Eli Lilly) Worldwide Commercial Organization. During his nine year tenure at ImClone, he was responsible for commercial aspects of the planning and launch of ERBITUX® (cetuximab) across multiple oncology indications, as well as new product planning for the ImClone development portfolio, which included CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) and necitumumab. In addition, Mr. Bailey was a key member of the strategic leadership committees for ImClone and its North American and worldwide partnerships. Prior to joining ImClone, Mr. Bailey managed the cardiovascular development portfolio at Genentech, Inc., and was a key member of their global commercial partnership teams. Mr. Bailey started his career in the pharmaceutical industry as part of SmithKline Beecham's Executive Marketing Development Program, where he held a variety of commercial roles, including sales, strategic planning, and product management. Mr. Bailey received a B.S. in psychology from St. Lawrence University and an M.B.A. in international marketing from the Mendoza College of Business at University of Notre Dame.

  • Kenneth M. Bate

    Kenneth M. Bate has served as a director since December 2007. He is currently an independent biotech industry consultant. Mr. Bate previously served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Archemix, Inc. from May 2009 to January 2012. From 2006 to 2009, Mr. Bate served in various positions at Nitromed, Inc., most recently as President and Chief Executive Officer. From 2002 to 2005, Mr. Bate served as Chief Financial Officer and head of commercial operations of Millennium Pharmaceuticals Inc. Mr. Bate served as the Chairman of the Board of Cubist Pharmaceuticals, Inc. from 2011 to 2015. In addition to serving on the Board of Directors of AVEO, Mr. Bate serves on the Board of Genocea Biosciences, Inc., Catabasis Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Epizyme, Inc. and TransMedics, Inc. Mr. Bate received his B.A. in Chemistry from Williams College and his M.B.A. from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

  • Anthony B. Evnin, Ph.D.


    Anthony B. Evnin, Ph.D. has been a Partner at Venrock, a venture capital firm, since 1975. Dr. Evnin currently serves on the Board of Directors of AVEO Pharmaceuticals and Infinity Pharmaceuticals as well as on the Boards of two private companies, Constellation Pharmaceuticals and Juno Therapeutics. He is a Trustee of The Rockefeller University, a Member of the Boards of Overseers and Managers of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, a Trustee of The Jackson Laboratory, a Director of the New York Genome Center, a Member of the Board of Directors of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, and a Trustee Emeritus of Princeton University. Dr. Evnin received an A.B. in chemistry from Princeton University and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

  • John H. Johnson

    Mr. Johnson joined the AVEO board of directors in February 2018. He also currently serves on the boards of Melinta Therapeutics, Inc., Portola Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Histogenics Corporation, and he is chairman of Strongbridge Biopharma plc. Mr. Johnson is expected to serve as lead independent director at Sucampo Pharmaceuticals, Inc. through the closing of its acquisition by Mallinckrodt plc, as announced December 26, 2017. He previously served as chairman of Tranzyme Pharma, Inc. and on the board of BioNJ. Mr. Johnson also previously served as chairman, president and chief executive officer of Dendreon Corporation and as chief executive officer and on the board of Savient Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Prior to these roles, he served as president of Eli Lilly & Company's Global Oncology Unit following the company's 2008 acquisition of ImClone Systems Incorporated, where he served as chief executive officer and on ImClone’s board. Prior to ImClone, Mr. Johnson served as the company group chairman of biopharmaceuticals within Johnson & Johnson, where he was responsible for the Johnson & Johnson Biotechnology, Immunology and Oncology commercial businesses. Prior to that role, he held several executive positions at Johnson & Johnson, Parkstone Medical Information Systems, Inc., Ortho-McNeil Pharmaceutical Corporation and Pfizer Inc.

  • Robert C. Young, M.D.


    Robert C. Young, M.D. has served as a director since July 2009. Dr. Young is president of RCY Medicine, a consulting service focused on cancer center productivity, health care quality and health policy which he founded in July 2009. From 2007 to 2009 he served as chancellor of Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia and as president and chief executive officer from 1989 to 2007. Dr. Young is a past-president of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the American Cancer Society and the International Gynecologic Cancer Society and past Chairman of the Board of Scientific Advisors of the National Cancer Institute. He holds a B.Sc. in zoology from Ohio State University and an M.D. from Cornell University Medical College and is Board certified in Internal Medicine, Hematology and Medical Oncology.